← All issues

AEO/GEO RADAR · 10 September 2026

The last question box on Google that still handed out links is now an AI answer 97% of the time, measured across 19.2 million queries.

Reported, not confirmed

People Also Ask is now 97% AI Overviews

Two independent reads landed together. AlsoAsked's Mark Williams-Cook, working from roughly 19.2 million English-language queries tracked through 2026, reported verbatim: "97% of PAA answers in the first week of September are AIOs, up from 86% in August." He added, verbatim: "It seems highly likely we are on track for 100% shortly." Separately Allintitle's Saeed Khosravi posted that "starting August, 2026 Google People Also Ask Answers Are 100% AI Generated." Barry Schwartz notes the same measurement stood at 12% around fourteen months ago. Google has said nothing.

Limits worth carrying: this is a tracked query panel, not a random sample of the web, the 19.2 million figure is the corpus rather than the September sample, and the two sources disagree on whether the number is 97 or 100. The direction is not in dispute.

Search Engine Roundtable, 9 September 2026
Confirmed at source

Google is now telling retailers the actual questions people ask its AI

Google's AI Performance Insights report, which launched in July for the US and reached Australia, Canada, India and New Zealand last week, gained three new sections. Read first-hand on Google's own help page: AI Search Terms "highlights search terms within a product category that shoppers are actively prioritizing"; AI Search Intents lets a merchant "understand the context behind conversational queries, moving beyond keywords to reveal the underlying shopper intent"; AI Attributes "provides structured technical specifications customers look for, such as Size, Color, or Material, that may be missing from your product data." Google's page states the report covers performance on "AI Mode" and "AI Overviews" for English-language queries in those five countries. It requires a Merchant Center account and a product feed.

Google Merchant Center help documentation, expansion spotted 9 September 2026
Reported, not confirmed

Apple's rebuilt Siri ships Monday, into 2.5 billion requests a day

Apple's VP of AI product management Lilian Rincon, on stage: "In fact, our users make over 2.5 billion requests every single day. And our new version of Siri goes further than ever before." Apple's own release notes describe it verbatim as "A more capable and conversational version of Siri", "drawing on capabilities like personal context understanding, app actions, onscreen awareness, and access to broad world knowledge." iOS 27 arrives 14 September, with the new Siri in beta in English first.

What Apple did not say matters as much. "Broad world knowledge" is not "answers from the web with sources". Apple's release notes do not say Siri cites anything, and no first-party page seen today describes source attribution. Whether Siri names a local business and shows where it got the name is unknown.

Apple event, 9 September 2026, and Apple's own iOS 27 release notes
Reported, not confirmed

Publishers spent $113 million in one month buying back the traffic AI answers took

Similarweb's Top 100 Media index spent an estimated $113 million on paid search in July 2026, up 41% year over year and 274% over three years. Paid search traffic to those sites rose in step, up 39% year over year to 23.7 million visits in July, and 148% over three years. Forbes alone accounts for an estimated $72.2 million of the $113 million, up 34% year over year and more than eightfold over three years. The New York Times is at an estimated $11.3 million.

Limits: these are Similarweb estimates of ad spend, not disclosed figures, and Forbes being two-thirds of the total means the index number is one company's strategy more than an industry trend. The 23.7 million visits figure is paid traffic only and says nothing about what organic did.

Adweek, Mark Stenberg, 9 September 2026, on Similarweb data
Reported, not confirmed

What content actually gets cited, by format, in July

Vendor data, from a vendor whose numbers have been carried here three times. July 2026 averages for Google AI Overviews: listicles 18.0% of citations, product pages 16.3%, how-to content 15.1%. Listicles fell from a stated "26% of AI Overview citations in Q1" to 18% by July, and by late July product pages had passed them, verbatim: "17.9% of citations versus 16.2% for listicles." In ChatGPT the gap is much wider: product pages 32.8% against listicles at 9.7% on average. Their conclusion on gaming the format, verbatim: "A 'best tools' listicle that only recommends your own product reads as biased to both readers and, increasingly, to the platforms evaluating it for citation." On refresh cadence, verbatim: "Roughly 8-14 weeks before a refresh helps, since AI models re-crawl and re-index regularly."

Limits that must travel with it: one month, two engines, and the post does not state the citation count behind the July figures or how a page is classified into a format. Promptwatch sells a visibility product and shipped a free competing report three days ago, so read the framing with that in mind. The numbers are still the most specific public statement of citation share by content type.

Promptwatch, Loïs Guillermond, 9 September 2026
Reported, not confirmed

Older, and only worth one line: who is actually blocking AI crawlers

Never carried here. A read of 4,223 robots.txt files from top domains on Cloudflare's network, built on Cloudflare Radar's own API. GPTBot is the most-named AI crawler at 690 mentions, then ClaudeBot at 594 and Google-Extended at 558. The finding worth keeping: GPTBot's allow share, 5.84%, now sits above its disallow share, 4.71%, for the first time in their tracking.

The limit is the whole point. This is top domains. A coach on Squarespace or a small WordPress host is not in this sample, so it tells us nothing about client risk and should never be quoted as if it did. It does refute the louder claim that the web is closing to AI crawlers.

TechnologyChecker.io, analysis updated 3 September 2026, data through August

The Radar is free to read and always will be. If you want to know whether AI names your business when a buyer asks, the free check asks ChatGPT 25 real buyer questions and emails you the answer within the hour.

Get the Radar by email →